The Cost of Rioting

Ok with there being riots in the streets “protesting” the police for the second time in a short time inside the United States. I think this is a subject that I should chime in on. There are immediate and obvious costs of rioting. 1st innocent people who don’t have anything to do with your distress there stuff destroyed.

Now lets bite into this lets say best case scenario they have insurance and so there stuff is just replaced. Thats great but what do they do in the mean time that there property is unavailable. If its a car they can’t drive to where they need to go, if its there house they’re homeless and if its a place of business there is lost revenue.

Now being a security guard my job is to literally protect property from vandalism or fire or anything else. I have seen first hand what happens to a business that has a tragic accident happen. A wood shop that I was guarding had a fire due to an electrical problem this particular shop made cabinets. Now the fire didn’t burn the shop to the ground and they were insured but the lost revenue that the business lost ended up causing the shop to close its doors. Now think same consequences would happen if it was rioters.

When a business isn’t up and running it slows the economy and causes unemployment. If you live locally where the riots are happening the rioters are actually causing serious stress on the local economy. If rioters destroy a car the person can’t drive themselves to work which now not as drastically again slows the economy. If you destroy government property guess who has to pay for it the tax payers which mean taxes must increase to compensate for this. There have been cop cars burned and destroyed guess who’s going to see a tax increase in the near future.

Now lets look at the lost potential of a riot that many people don’t seem to pay attention too. If I am a business owner of any kind I do not want to put my business in an area where rioting is likely to occur whether it’s just a small shop or restaurant or a large manufacturing plant as an investor or business owner or CEO I don’t want to have to deal with potential property damage. I personally have looked at opening a business I have an idea I’m playing around with I’m not going to put my offices in the places where I’m concerned of rioters or looters or where crime is likely to occur. There was a city counsel man in Baltimore that part of the reason that there was rioting was the lack of opportunity for people there in that urban area. Thanks to the rioting the opportunities aren’t going to come there now. At least if the businessman thinks like I do.

Lets talk about tension between the public and the police. Do these riots make the police want to be nicer to the public and that relationships will become better. Probably not! Another part or rioting is that police are allowed to use necessary force to protect personages and property. Guess what you might out number them but there will our arm you. They have body armor, tear gas, shields and water cannons just to name a few that they can use to try in disperse the riots. Chances are you DON’T!

I am all about freedom of speech and protesting. If you are having a peaceful protest and the police use force like what happened in California it’s a Personal Relations nightmare and the country as a whole will come down on them when the media publishes it. I DO NOT CONDONE POLICE BRUTALITY but rioting isn’t the answer. Now I enjoy a show called called “Wildest Police Videos” its just a compilation of police videos. I have seen in other countries and in our police use force to stop riots. Guess what its justified as soon as you start rioting force can become justified.

In the end people just keep it peaceful and get in front of the media to voice concerns its a slower process but more lasting. Rioting only hurts the community.

Perciful

Leave a comment